CPL Training Rating

What is CPL Commercial Pilots License ?

Commercial pilot licence (CPL), is a type of license that permits the holder to get paid for working as a pilot of an aircraft. 

The basic requirements to obtain the license and the privileges are agreed internationally by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). However, the actual implementation varies quite widely from country to country. According to ICAO, to be eligible for a commercial pilot license, the applicant must;

  • Be able to read, speak, write, and understand English.
  • Already hold a private pilot license.
  • Have received training in the areas of a commercial pilot.
  • Successfully complete the relevant written exams.

The CPL is basically a more advanced PPL, requiring greater accuracy in flying and a higher standard of airmanship. The holder of a CPL is able to act as pilot in command of a small piston-engine aircraft that holds less than 9 passengers for commercial purposes such as revenue flights in visual conditions (VMC). The minimum age to hold a CPL is 18 years old.

The CPL is valid for multi-engine aircraft only if the CPL skills test is passed in a multi-engine aircraft, otherwise, privileges are restricted to single-engine aircraft. A CPL holder may only operate the aircraft in what is referred to as Visual Meteorological Conditions (VMC) – this basically means clear of cloud with the ground always insight in good visibility. In order for the student to be eligible to sit the CPL skills test with an examiner, he must have completed 80 hours as pilot in command (or pilot in command under supervision) and flown the cross country qualifier which involves a solo flight over 300 nautical miles, landing at two other airfields than the one you departed from.

How many subjects should students pass to get CPL?

The ground and Flight training are combined during the whole preparation in obtaining the Commercial Pilot License.

The theoretical part of the training that takes place in the classroom and is taught by our flight instructors. In order to complete The Instrument Rating under Part 141, there is a minimum requirement of 35 hours of ground training. The Ground Training is divided into 3 stages. During the ground school training, the student will have 3 exams, one for each stage.

The Flight Training will take place in the single-engine aircraft and in a single-engine complex aircraft.

In order to obtain a Commercial Pilot License, the pilot must complete a minimum of 55 hours of dual and 80 hours as a pilot in command flight under Part 141.

This training will also be divided into 3 stages and will have 3 stage flight tests. The student will obtain the necessary aeronautical skill and experience necessary to meet the requirements for a Commercial Pilot License.

Practical Exams

The final aeronautical knowledge and practical test is the check ride. It will be taken at the end of all the training which consists of an oral and practical exam. Once the student passes this exam, he/she will obtain the Commercial Pilot License.

Theoretical Exams

Towards the end of the course, you will have to demonstrate a sufficient level of theoretical knowledge testing center in the form of a written test. To pass the commercial pilot written examination you need to achieve a score of at least 75% in 9 subjects. This test must be done before the Check Ride.

ATPL frozen:

You must have also passed the following fourteen ATPL theoretical examinations with a pass mark of 75% or greater:

    • Aircraft general knowledge ― airframe/systems/power plant
    • Air Show
    • Aircraft general knowledge ― instrumentation
    • Mass and balance
    • Performance
    • Flight planning and monitoring
    • Human performance
    • Meteorology
    • General navigation
    • Radio navigation
    • Operational procedures
    • Principles of flight
    • Visual Flight Rules (VFR) communications
    • Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) communications (only required to hold an IR).
Scroll to Top